16 April Tuesday

Mayor Uysal started Presidential Cycling Tour of Turkey

The 55th edition of the Presidential Cycling Tour of Turkey, held under the auspices of the Presidency of Turkey, in cooperation with the Istanbul Metropolitan Municipality (IMM) was started both mayor Mevlüt Uysal and Governor Ali Yerlikaya in Sultanahmed Square, Istanbul.

The Tour of Turkey will be held between April 16-21, competing 119 cyclists from 17 teams.

Four World Tour teams are also among 17 teams which will cycle in about 1,000km-long 6-day race.

The race will be broadcast in 185 countries.

Organized by the Turkish Cycling Federation, the Presidential Cycling Tour of Turkey debuted in 1963 and became an international race two years later.

Started in 1963 as "Tour of Marmara", this year's tour will follow a similar "Nostalgic" route to its first edition.

As one of Turkey's most prestigious worldwide sporting events, the 55th edition of the Presidential Cycling Tour of Turkey will make a new start this year with its new slot in April on “UCI World Tour” calendar.

Teams departing from Istanbul will head to Tekirdag, Eceabat, Canakkale, Edremit, Balikesir, Bursa, Sakarya and will see the ultimate finish again in Istanbul.

Comprising from six new stages, the Tour 2019 will be held along a route that exceeds a thousand of kilometers on which world-class teams and ace riders will be crossing the continents at Canakkale, from Europe to Asia.

Uysal: “It will make a great contribution to the promotion of Turkey”

After the start of the competition, mayor Mr. Uysal answered the question of journalists, he said “today, we are hosting one of the world's largest organizations. In addition to Turkish cyclists, some of the world's most famous cyclists participate in this competition. This event, which will be held in Marmara Region this year, will make significant contributions to introduce the historical and cultural heritage of our country to the whole world. At the end of the 6-day race, hopefully, we would like to welcome all athletes here.”

Yerlikaya: “We are happy to continue a historical tradition”

Mr. Hamza Yerlikaya, Deputy Minister of youth and sport of Turkey, stated that they were very happy to continue a historical tradition, he noted, “We are happy to be able to realize an international organization which has been going on for many years. I would like to thank all those who have contributed to this event held under the auspices of the Presidency of Turkey, in cooperation with the Istanbul Metropolitan Municipality (IMM).”

Stages of the Tour 2019:

April 16: Istanbul-Tekirdag (156,7 km)

April 17: Tekirdag-Eceabat (183,3 km)

April 18: Canakkale-Edremit (122,6 km)

April 19: Balikesir-Bursa (194,3 km)

April 20: Bursa-Kartepe (164,1 km)

April 21: Sakarya-Istanbul (172,4 km)


World Tour teams:

Astana (Kazakhstan)

Bora Hansgrohe (Germany)

Deceuninck Quick-Step (Belgium)

Dimension Data (South Africa)

BAE Emirates (UAE)

Lotto Soudal (Belgium)

Other professional teams:

Burgos (Spain)

Caja Rural (Spain)

Delko Marseille Provence KTM (France)

Euskadi Murias (Spain)

Manzana Postobon (Colombia)

Neri Sottoli Selle Italy KTM (Italy)

Nippo-Vini Fantini-Faizane (Italy)

Rally UHC (USA)

Sport Vlaanderen (Belgium)

W52 Porto (Portugal)

National Team:


The winners of the last 10 years:

2009: Daryl Impey (South Africa)

2010: Giovanni Visconti (Italy)

2011: Alexander Efemkin (Russia)

2012: Alexandr Dyachenko (Kazakhstan)

2013: Natnael Berhane (Eritrea)

2014: Adam Yates (Great Britain)

2015: Kristijan Durasek (Croatia)

2016: Jose Goncalves (Portugal)

2017: Diego Ulissi (Italy)

2018: Eduard Prades (Spain)

  • Weather Forecast
  • Traffic
  • Social Facilities